ABOUT

  The change of comics is still on-going today. As social media appears, the “ecosystem” of comics has gradually emerged, allowing comics to connect to culture, craft, industry, economy, and even be viewed as an aesthetic or art. In this aspect, the “comic ecosystem germinated from the internet” can be surveyed and analyzed through the method of “continuous mapping” used in topology. This enables us to extract the coordinates of the comic ecosystem and map out its dimensions, with the horizontal axis being “the structural dimension” and the vertical axis “the historical dimension.” 

  In the “structural dimension,” various phenomena have become visible after the anime/comic culture arose with the internet and social media. This shows that comics has moved beyond the authorial framework, creating the possibility for the “encounter” between comic works and their readers. Such encounter brings to mind the “relational aesthetics” proposed by Nicolas Bourriaud. Comic works have therefore started separating from authors and engaging readers or audiences in “recreation,” which includes various types of translation, co-creation or derivative creation. Through online communities, the anime/comic culture begins to permeate and penetrate the dimension wall. It is, however, impossible to include and discuss comprehensively the massive comic ecosystem from one perspective in this internet era. The approach adopted in the exhibition is sampling, which allows us to consider how individual, the other and the multitude are connected through the lens of relational aesthetics. Therefore, the exhibition is further divided into three topics: “Classics by Individual Artists (Individual),” “Forces from Connected Groups (Other)” and “Reversion of Social Culture (Multitude).” Here, the individual, the other and the multitude are not only motives for comic creation but also means to connect externally; they even represent the degree of impact triggered by the creation of the comic ecosystem.

  As for the “historical dimension,” the above-mentioned dimension includes the past and the present, and another possible aspect is the future. Therefore, a fourth topic, “Envisioning the Future of Comics,” is added, which incorporates interdisciplinary collaborations of technology art and new media to experiment on the future of comics for the next generation. Based on individual, the other and the multitude, this topic is further divided into three sub-topics: “A Quest of Individual Perception,” “Reshaping the Memory of Other” and “Politics of the Multitude and Its Practice,” which are responded respectively by different combinations of comic artists and new media artist. This topic also features AR technology that reinvents comics and brings it into the audience’s life via the use of smartphone.

  This exhibition features samples extracted from the Taiwanese and Japanese ecosystems of animation and comics to reflect on the Taiwanese and Japanese anime/comic culture through analyzing the phenomena of post-internet comics and online communities. This allows us to rethink their present intersection and form a comparison, one that enables us to examine both Taiwan and Japan, before moving onto the nativization and development of Taiwanese comics while envisioning its future and all the possibilities it can bring. “Dimension wall” is an internet term that denotes the barrier preventing human beings inhabiting the third dimension from entering the two-dimensional world. The anime/comic culture placed within the context of relational aesthetics, in this regard, perhaps shows us a way to enter the “thinking space,” a way to construct relations, and a method to permeate the two-dimensional space, potentially producing connections between comics, reality and society.
 

 

CURATOR

​LUO He-Lin 

羅禾淋.jpg

​羅禾淋

Helin Luo graduated with a master’s degree from Graduate School of Arts and Technology, Taipei National University of the Arts and a doctoral degree from Graduate Institute of Networking and Multimedia, National Taiwan University.  He specializes in creating interdisciplinary works using art and technology.  For his creations, he draws from his personal experience of being extremely addicted to online games during middle and upper school to explore “the power of virtual worlds”, “the thrill of speed”, and other variations during this era of technology.  Furthermore, his works are centered around the concept of “immigrant illness” amidst this generation of digital immigrants.  His works have been recognized at many electronic and contemporary art festivals both domestically and internationally.  These include the Digital Arts Award Taipei (2008, 2010, 2011, 2015), FILE - Electronic Language International Festival (2009, 2010, 2013), and other competitions.  He has also participated in many major international exhibitions, such as SIGGRAPH, SIGGRAPH ASIA, FILERIO, PIXILERATIONS〔v.8〕, Asian Students and Young Artists Art Festival (ASYAAF), ACM Multimedia Art Exhibition, Ars Electronica Festival (2014, 2017), Click Festival in Denmark, and other exhibitions, as well as biennales, such as 2015 WRO Media Art Biennale, 2017 Asian Art Biennial, and more.  Luo is the first Taiwanese artist to create works using a four-axis drone.  His works have won first prize for the performance award at Digital Art Festival Taipei.  He was also specially invited to Ars Electronica Festival to present his inter-disciplinary works made through drones.

 

​For a long term period, he studied Internet culture and digital technology, specifically in regards to daily life, the environment, the city, and other topics.  In the area of inter-disciplinary curating, he launched the method of presenting “installation files”.  His curating experiences include: “GAME‧NOT OVER ‧ YET Special Video Game Exhibition”, “From Hatsune - Special Exhibition on Contemporary Art and Idol Culture", " When Manga Intervenes in Society", and more.  On contemporary art topics, he began a long-term observation of the relationship between the city and bordering areas during his residency at Treasure Hill.  He has planned and curated exhibitions, such as “Micro-Resonance - Undecided Post-Settlement”, “ Ruins X City X Ghost Stories”, “Format Daily”, “Urban Parasites”, “Urban Mach Band”, “Nostalgia Manufacturing Machine”, and more.  He was selected to serve as curator for the anniversary of Taiwan Art Gallery Association (2012), Association of the Visual Arts in Taiwan (2013), Taipei Art District Festival (2015 and 2016), as well as for the 20th anniversary of SLY Art Space (2017). 
 

©2020 by 有電互動

關於展覽

現今漫畫還在不斷的變化,最後隨著社群網路的崛起,漫畫逐漸的產生了「生態系(Ecosystem)」,這個生態系,使得漫畫可以是文化、工藝、產業、經濟,甚至漫畫可以是美學、藝術,因此「從網路開始的漫畫生態系」,將用拓樸學(topology)的方式,以「連續映射」,把漫畫生態座標系統的維度取出,橫軸的部份為「結構維度」,其中縱軸的部份為「歷史維度」。

「結構維度」的部份,動漫文化隨著社群網路的崛起而產生眾多現象,其現象讓漫畫跳脫作者的框架,使其與讀者產生「交集」,就如同尼可拉斯.柏瑞歐(Nicolas Bourriaud)所提之「關係美學 (Relational Aesthetics)」,作品本身脫離作者,開始與讀者或觀者產生「再創作」,其中包含著不同類型的轉譯、共創或二創,使得動漫透過網路社群誕生,開始產生滲透和穿越次元壁的現象。在網路時代下的龐大漫畫生態系統中,無法用單一論點來談完全部的生態樣貌,因此我們採用取樣的方式,思考關係美學所連結的「個人」、「他者」和「諸眾」三者之間的關係;故本次展覽展區分成子三個子議題「個體刻畫的經典(個人)」、「群體串聯的力量(他者)」 」、「社會文化的反轉(諸眾)」。在此的個人、他者、諸眾,可以是漫畫創作的動機,也可以是漫畫對外連結的方式,甚至是漫畫建構生態系統的影響程度。

「歷史維度」的部份,如果上敘是過去與當下,那另一種可能就是未來,因此延伸第四個主題「漫畫未來的輪廓」,透過科技藝術、新媒體等跨域合作,來實驗下一個世代的漫畫未來式,又再依據個人、他者、諸眾分成三個小題「個人知覺的追尋」、「他者記憶的再塑」、「諸眾政治的實踐」,分別對應漫畫家與新媒體創作者。另外在此子題中,也將使用AR的方式,讓漫畫可以透過手機開啟AR,走入觀眾的生活場域之中。

展覽以臺灣動畫與日本的漫畫生態系進行取樣,透過網路之後的漫畫與社群現象,來重新思考臺日動漫文化與在當下所產生的交集,並且從臺灣投映至日本,再從日本投射回臺灣,並且觀測臺灣漫畫原生化的發展,也思考未來臺灣漫畫的下一步,與可能的面貌。「次元壁」是網路用語,講述著三次元世界的我們,永遠無法進入二次元世界的一種屏障,也許在關係美學所談及的動漫文化,就是一個能進入「思想空間」的關係建立方式,也是滲透二次元的一種方法,讓漫畫與真實社會產生連結。
 

 

策展人

​羅禾淋

羅禾淋.jpg

​LUO He-Lin

  • 學歷

  國立台灣大學資訊網路與多媒體所博士

   國立台北藝術大學科技藝術研究所碩士​​

  • 現任

  國立臺南藝術大學動畫藝術與影像美學研究所專任

      助理教授

  • 經歷

長期研究網路文化與數位科技,對應日常生活、環境、城市等議題。在跨領域策展方面,開創「裝置文件」展出的方式。重要策展有「GAME‧NOT OVER‧YET電玩藝術特展」、「從初音開始-當代藝術與偶像文化特展」、「當漫畫介入社會」等等。當代藝術議題方面,以寶藏巖的駐村經驗出發,長期觀察城市與邊陲之間的關係,規劃有「微共鳴-後居所的未定」、「廢墟 X 都市 X 怪談」、「日常壞軌」、「都市寄生術」、「都市馬赫帶」、「鄉愁製造機」等策展。2012 被選為台灣畫廊協會畫廊周年度策展人、2013 台灣視覺藝術協會年度策展人、2015 與 2016 大內藝術特區藝術節年度策展人、2017 新樂園藝術空間 20 周年策展人。

©2020 by 有電互動