Exhibition Discussion

Permeable Dimension Wall — Comic Ecosystem Germinated from the Internet and A Topological Survey of the Taiwan-Japan Comic Aesthetics

Text / LUO He-Lin

“Comics” has already become one of the most important forms of entertainment in contemporary life. Opinions about its origin vary around the world: in the West, it is said that the origin of comics can be traced to the historical stone carvings on the Roman Trajan's Column, and in the East, the stone carvings, known as “Jie of Xia,” found in Wu Liang Temple from the Han dynasty are viewed as the origin. These have shown that “graphic drawing” has always been a crucial means to record history. In the modern times, comics has become a critical instrument in terms of critiquing social affairs in newspapers and magazines. It is also used in educational materials and textbooks for children, and even becomes the most popular entertainment for teenagers. Therefore, it is clear that comics has continuously “evolved” in a “fluid” form throughout the course of time. Moreover, as technology advances, comics has given rise to “animation” and “video games,” which collectively form the “anime/comic culture” in the contemporary era. Today, the change of comics continues, and as social media appears, the “ecosystem” of comics gradually emerges, allowing comics to be viewed as an aesthetic or art. In this aspect, the “Comic Ecosystem Germinated from the Internet” can be surveyed and analyzed through the means of “continuous mapping” used in topology. This method enables us to extract the coordinates of the comic ecosystem and map out its dimensions, with the vertical axis being “the historical dimension” and the horizontal axis “the structural dimension.”

A Topological Survey of the Comic Ecosystem

“The historical dimension” focuses on exploring the influences of Japanese manga on Taiwanese comics. Due to the Japanese rule, Taiwanese comics developed quite early. However, the later censorship led to the popularity of non-copyrighted Japanese manga in Taiwan, which has become part of many Taiwanese readers’ childhood memory. Such cultural kinship is precisely the reason why Taiwanese anime/comic culture has mirrored that of Japan, and forms the topic to be examined regarding the “evolution” of the comic ecosystem. The survey of this “evolution” is unraveled in two aspects: the first aspect revolves around the revolution of comic forms that has unfolded along with the changes of technology and the vehicles of comics. Here, animation and video games are also included in the comic ecosystem. The introduction of the internet has become a watershed that divides this development into “the pre-internet period” and “the post-internet period” before the ecosystem has expanded into a full one. The second aspect is the extensive influence of Japanese manga on the Taiwanese comics throughout history, which has given birth to the ecosystem of Taiwanese comics that is now naturally departed from Japanese manga and showed collisions of nativization. Eventually, the outcome of such nativization in turn influences Japan. Therefore, in order to map out the contour of the Taiwanese comic ecosystem, it is essential to form a historical comparison between Taiwan and Japan.

“The structural dimension,” on the other hand, explores the comic ecosystem formed after the introduction of the internet, to structurally examine how the ecosystem is co-produced by authors, editors, publishers and readers, along with the formation of derivative works. The structural dimension indicates a highly complicated process. Like an ecosystem that operates through “cycle” and “flow,” it is constructed based on interaction and interdependence. The comic ecosystem defined here refers to that of the post-internet ecosystem because the comic ecosystem was not visibly formed before the internet and was even separated from animation and video games. After the creation of the internet, a clearly detectable anime/comic culture has emergence, and so has the structure of its ecosystem. After the anime/comic culture entered the internet era, various phenomena have become visible in “the structural dimension,” which showed that comics has moved beyond the authorial framework, creating the possibility for the “encounter” between comic works and their readers. Such encounter brings to mind the “relational aesthetics” proposed by Nicolas Bourriaud. Although relational aesthetics refers to the relation between artists, artworks and spectators, it can be applied to interpret the contemporary comic ecosystem in this post-modern era when the boundaries between high art and popular art are largely dissolved. Through the lens of relational aesthetics, (comic) artists can be viewed as “the catalyst” rather than occupying a central position. This is the core concept of the comic ecosystem in the post-internet era.

Relational Aesthetics in Comics

In his Postproduction: Culture as Screenplay: How Art Reprograms the World of 2002, Bourriaud examines the age of the internet through the lens of relational aesthetics. The virtual space of the internet carries similar characteristics to the “topological space” in topology or the “mental space” defined by relational aesthetics. The significance of “transmission” is emphasized in relational aesthetics, which argues that if transmission does not exist, an artwork is merely a lifeless object. Borrowing this concept to rethink the “transmission” of comics, it is not difficult to see that the key medium of transmission in this context is “the internet,” before which people could only share their love and zeal of comics through a few “societies.” However, after entering the age of the internet, comics as well as its other derivative forms, including animation, video games, music and toys, have all entered a process of “great acceleration.”

The comic ecosystem in the age of the internet shows a clear relational route—“from individuals to others, and from others to the multitude.” Comic works break free from authors and start engaging readers or audiences in the production of new interpretations, which include various types of translation, co-creation or derivative creation, giving rise to phenomena revolving around the relationship between comics and society. However, it is impossible to include and discuss comprehensively the comic ecosystem with one exhibition in this massive ecosystem. Therefore, a suitable approach is sampling, which allows us to think about how individual, the other and the multitude are connected through the lens of relational aesthetics. Consequently, the exhibition is further divided into three sub-topics: “Classics by Individual Artists (Individual),” “Forces from Connected Groups (Other)” and “Reversion of Social Culture (Multitude).” Here, the individual, the other and the multitude are not only motives for comic creation but also means to connect externally; they even represent the degree of impact triggered by the creation of comic ecosystem. These three topics are unraveled through “the structural dimension” before the historical dimension of each sub-topic is discussed respectively. In addition, the scope of the historical dimension only involves the evolution from the past to the present time; so, a fourth topic, “Envisioning the Future of Comics,” is added, which incorporates interdisciplinary collaborations of technology art and new media to experiment on the future of comics for the next generation.

Classics by Individual Artists (Individual)

Focusing on discussing “desire,” such as desire of heroes and desire of moe, the topic reflects on the relationship between the Taiwan-Japan comics and invites Japanese manga artists who have influenced Taiwanese comic ecosystem, including the character designer of Final Fantasy, Amano Yoshitaka; the designer of Godzilla, Nishikawa Shinji; the character designer of Mobile Police PATLABOR, Takada Akemi; and the author of Tsukuyomi: Moon Phase, Arima Keitaro. Their works have had an impact on the fan communities of video games, special filming (tokusatsu), robots and moe in Taiwanese anime/comic culture. As for Taiwanese comic artists, this exhibition section includes examples from different generations, inviting artists working in different fields, including the master of wuxia (martial art) comics, You Lung-Hui; the creator of wuxia sci-fi comics The Legend of Yi-Dao, Chen Hong-Yao; the creator of It’s Rex, Huang Hsi-Wen; the creator of Heroes of Sui and Tang Dynasties, Kao Yung; and the creator of The Mask Club, Kid Jerry (Hu Chieh-Lung). These works have already become part of the profound memories that have influenced Taiwanese comics.

Finally, the section also includes Thunderbolt Fantasy, a work by Pili International Multimedia Co., Ltd. that integrates and grows from the cultures of Taiwanese comics and Japanese manga. As it is mentioned earlier, the nativization of Taiwanese comics has in turn created new collisions and chemistry with Japanese anime/manga culture. To form a comparison between Taiwanese and Japanese animation, the section also features animation works from the Course of Arts Science of Moving Image, Visual Concept Planning Department, Osaka University of Arts and the Graduate Institute of Animation and Film Art, Tainan National University of the Arts.

Forces from Connected Groups (Other)

The doujin culture (roughly translated as “fandom culture) first arose in the age of the internet, when comic artists began building a new production system, editing and publishing their own works while self-marketing them via the internet or doujin events. Meanwhile, the distance between comic artists and their fans have become shorter and shorter, to the extent that even many fans are creators themselves who create derivative works. Unlike the Taiwanese commercial works in the 80s and 90s that were deeply influenced by the Japanese manga, Taiwanese and Japanese doujin culture almost developed in a parallel manner. In the age when the internet becomes almost ubiquitous and globalization intensifies, national boundaries have been rendered non-existent by the internet and nativization has accelerated in different regions. Included in this exhibition, therefore, are celebrated comic artist Murata Range; the well-known Japanese doujin group SHIITAKE; and Orimoto Mimana, whose career first started as a doujin creator and later crossed into the commercial field. These are creators emerged from this newly developed production system.

The exhibition also features Taiwanese artists, including VOFAN, who first made the reputation in the doujin cultural circle and has now enjoyed much publicity in Japan, as well as Ikaridon Yu, MICKEYMAN and XIEDUO, who launched their careers and achieved fame on social media. Again, they are all creators making use of this new system benefited from the internet. Erotes Studio, the video game company started out as a doujin group, is also featured in the exhibition. Furthermore, this section also features sound artist Huang Da-Wang, who is also a long-time anime/comic fan, to portray the idol culture in the comic culture; and designer Hsu Chun-Cheng, who will discuss the handiwork and derivative work from the perspective of the maker movement in the internet era. The section ends with Yahoo TV’s “Hoonie Friends,” a collaboration by Taiwan and Japan, to explore the key spirit of “transferring authorship” in the age of the internet—comic artists are no longer authors but the catalyst bringing together comic works and fans.

Reversion of Social Culture (Multitude)

In Taiwan, comics has always been a creative form with a documentary nature that is closely associated with social culture. The exploration of local culture can only be done by comic artists, who have lived in a local region for a long time so that he or she can absorb and digest various cultural contents. Consequently, it is clear that almost no comparison between Taiwan and Japan can be form in this context. Apart from the technical aspect, such as varying artistic style and skills, material and theme are the key components in discussing the nativization of local culture. Once again, the historical dimension is topologically surveyed by dividing the timeline into the “pre-internet” and the “post-internet” periods. The pre-internet documentary works of social culture include Chiu Hsi-Hsun’s Little Anti-Communist Hero, Du Fu-An’s The Birth of an Island, and The Wushe Incident by Chiu Row-Long. The post-internet documentary works of social culture include Li Lung-Chieh’s Koxinga Z, Wei Tsung-Cheng’s The Coming of Emperor Ma and The Apocalypse of Darkness Warfare, and NISIN’s Presidential Slave to Cats and Baseball Life. Artist Hsu Che-Yu’s Microphone Test, an animation work that employs a documentary style to present writer Huang Guo-Jun’s essay collection published before his death, is also specially included in this section. Comic works before the internet have played an important role in terms of social intervention; in the post-internet era, which witnesses the flourishing of the doujin culture, comics manifests a more direct and potent impact on society. 

Envisioning the Future of Comics

Based on individual, the other and the multitude, this sub-topic is further divided into three aspects: “A Quest of Individual Perception,” “Reshaping the Memory of Other” and “Politics of the Multitude and Its Practice.” In “A Quest of Individual Perception,” video artist Chen I-Chun and comic artist Zuo Hsuan embark on an interdisciplinary collaboration. Because of their similar background of growing up and their enthusiasm about traditional religious beliefs, the artists have decided to employ new media art to represent The Summer Temple Fair. Japanese new media artist Ando Hideyuki collaborates with Taiwanese comic artist Wei Tsung-Cheng to create Saccede-Based Display Eyes, utilizing the persistence of vision to unveil miracles performed by “Mo Niang” (默娘), one of the main characters in The Apocalypse of Darkness Warfare, in front of the eyes of the audience. Ando also works with Japanese comic artist Yashiro Shinya on a comic project featuring scientific themes. In “Reshaping the Memory of Other,” new media artist Hu Chin-Hsiang collaborates with comic artist Barz (Li Kuan-Ju). Their interdisciplinary collaboration reimagines Dragon Metropolis, a comic series that borrows the worldview of Qing dynasty, to reinterpret the “perpetual machine” depicted in the series. Japanese new media artist Hachiya Kazuhiko bases his inspiration for Open Sky Project on the “Mehve” (a glider craft for wind-riding) in Miyazaki Hayao’s animation film Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind, and creates a wind-riding machine. The project is also a collaboration with Japanese manga artists Terada Katsuya and Asari Yoshito, exhibiting their work in diverse forms, including video, interactive installation, manga and illustration. In “Politics of the Multitude and Its Practice,” new media artist Lee Wen-Cheng collaborates with comic artist Nagee. Their similar political views facilitate the merge of their work. Based on his comic series Grandpa Budai and His Taiwanese Friends, Nagee and Lee use the form of stage installation to reveal an alternative aspect of comic art. This section also features AR technology that reinvents and brings comic works by various comic artists, including Erotes Studio, VOFAN, SHIITAKE, Mickeyman, Xieduo, Li Lung-Chieh, Du Fu-An, Ikaridon Yu, Wei Tsung-Cheng and Orimoto Mimana, into the audience’s life via the use of smartphone.

Shattering the Dimension Wall

The stories told through two-dimensional comics have always filled the lives of their readers with all kinds of emotions, because of which readers in turn long for this marvelous two-dimensional world. “Dimension wall” is an internet term that denotes the barrier preventing human beings that inhabit the three-dimensional world from entering the two-dimensional world. However, the popularity of the internet, the active communities of comics and the transferring of authorship have enabled the permeation of the dimension wall after the emergence of online communities. The anime/comic culture placed within the context of relational aesthetics has perhaps showed us a way to enter the “thinking space,” a way to construct relations, and a method to enter the two-dimensional space. As the second dimension becomes reachable, and even permeable in the future, connections between comics and the real society are formed. This exhibition extracts samples from the Taiwanese and Japanese ecosystems of animation and comics, which in reality refer to the combination of “anime/comic culture” and “fan culture” that we are familiar with. The creation of the ecosystems is propelled by the internet. Rethinking the Taiwanese and Japanese anime/comic culture through the bourgeoning phenomenon of post-internet comics and communities, it allows us to examine their present intersection and form a comparison between the two, one that enables us to examine both Taiwan and Japan, before moving onto the nativization and development of Taiwanese comics while envisioning its future and all the possibilities it can bring.

©2020 by 有電互動

展覽論述

滲透次元壁 – 從網路開始的漫畫生態系與臺日漫畫美學的拓樸

文 / 羅禾淋

「漫畫」在當下已經是我們生活之中,最重要的娛樂文化之一,其溯源世界各地眾說紛紜,西方從刻印歷史痕跡的羅馬〈圖拉真柱〉石雕畫開始,東方則有漢朝武梁祠石刻〈夏桀〉,皆可知道「圖形畫」是紀錄歷史的重要手段。到了近代,漫畫則是成為成人觀看報章雜誌批判時事的利器,或是幼童觀看教育學習的課本讀物,甚至是青少年最喜歡的娛樂刊物,因此,可以知道漫畫隨著時代的推移,有如「液態化」般的不斷「形變」,甚至近代隨著科技的發展,漫畫演變成「動畫」、「遊戲」所統稱的「動漫文化」,現今漫畫還在不斷的變化,最後隨著社群網路的崛起,漫畫逐漸的產生了「生態系(Ecosystem)」,這個生態系,使得漫畫可以是文化、工藝、產業、經濟,甚至漫畫可以是美學、藝術,因此「從網路開始的漫畫生態系」,將用拓樸學(topology)的方式,透過「連續映射」的方式,把漫畫生態座標系統的維度取出,其中縱軸的部份為「歷史維度」,橫軸的部份為「結構維度」。

漫畫生態系的拓樸

「歷史維度」的探討,以臺灣漫畫深受日本漫畫的影響為核心,如日治的影響臺漫發展的早,後因審查制度,無版權的日漫成為臺灣讀者兒時的回憶,在此文化淵源下,臺灣動漫文化正是日本的映射,也是漫畫生態系中「演化」所探討的問題。「演化」分成兩種,其一是漫畫隨著科技與載體的轉換,形式上面的變革,在此我們把動畫、電玩都納入其漫畫生態系統之中,以「網路前」與「網路後」如分水嶺如何擴張成一個完整的生態系統,其二則是歷史洪流下的過程,日本漫畫深刻的影響臺灣,而產生出的臺灣漫畫生態,自然會脫離日漫開始有著原生化的衝撞,最後這個原生化,也終將再回去日本進行影響,也因此要建構臺灣漫畫生態系的輪廓,要同時以「臺日」的歷史性來觀照。

「結構維度」的探討,則是以網路後的漫畫生態,進行結構化的思索,作家、編輯、出版社、讀者,是如何產生出生態,又或著形成另一個故事二創化,結構維度會是一個錯綜複雜的過程,如同生態系通過「循環」和「流動」,互相作用、互相依存所建構而成。在此定義網路後的漫畫生態系,是因其網路前漫畫尚未建構成明顯的生態系,甚至是與動畫、電玩等分離,而網路之後才可以明顯看出動漫文化的形成與生態系的結構。「結構維度」以動畫文化在網路之後產生出了眾多現象,其現象也讓漫畫跳脫作者的框架,使其作品與讀者產生出「交集」,此交集如同尼可拉斯.柏瑞歐(Nicolas Bourriaud)所提到的「關係美學(Relational Aesthetics)」,雖然關係美學定義的是藝術家、藝術品、觀者之間的關係,但在當下精緻藝術與通俗藝術已無界線的後現代,關係美學在當下的漫畫生態系可以形成清楚的參照,可以將藝術家(漫畫家)視為「催化劑」,而不是居於中心位置,這也是網路後的漫畫生態系最重要的核心。
 

漫畫中的關係美學

尼可拉斯.柏瑞歐在2002年的著作《Postproduction: Culture as Screenplay: How Art Reprograms the World》中,將關係美學的思考進入來網際網路的時代。網際網路的虛擬空間,也與上述拓樸學的「拓樸空間」或關係美學所定義的「心理空間」,有著即其類似的性質。關係美學中強調「傳遞」的重要性,甚至敘述中提及當作品沒有被傳遞時,作品是一個死掉的物體,因此再思考漫畫的「傳遞」後,我們得到一個關鍵的傳遞媒介─「網際網路」。網路以前,當人們要分享對於漫畫的情感與喜好,只能選擇少量的「社團」,然而當開始了網路時代以後的漫畫與其延伸的動畫、電玩、音樂、玩具等等,都進入的「劇烈加速度」的時代。


在網路時代下的漫畫生態系之中,可以明顯看到一種關係路徑「從個人到他者,從他者到諸眾」,漫畫作品本身脫離作者,開始與讀者或觀賞著再次產生新的詮釋,其中包含著不同類型的轉譯、共創或二創,使得漫畫開始產生出與社會有關係的現象。然而在這個龐大的生態系統中,無法用一個展覽來談完全部的漫畫生態,因此我們只能用取樣的方式,思考關係美學所連結的個人、他者、諸眾,三者之間的關係,把展覽的子議題分成「個體刻畫的經典(個人)」、「群體串聯的力量(他者) 」 、「社會文化的反轉(諸眾) 」。在此的個人、他者、諸眾,可以是漫畫創作的動機,也可以是漫畫對外連結的方式,甚至是漫畫建構生態系統的影響程度。最後上述的三個主題,透過「結構維度」展開,再各別談論子題中的歷史維度,而歷史維度的範圍只提及了過去到現今之間的演化,也因此在此延伸第四個主題「漫畫未來的輪廓」,透過科技藝術、新媒體等跨域合作,來實驗下一個世代的漫畫未來式。

個體刻畫的經典(個人)

以「欲望」為探討的要素,如英雄的欲望、萌屬性的欲望等等。在臺日的映射上以影響臺灣漫畫生態系的日本漫畫創作者為邀請的對象,包含《Final Fantasy》的人設天野喜孝、《哥吉拉》的設計西川伸司、《機動警察》的人設高田明美、《月詠》的作者有馬啟太郎,其創作影響臺灣動漫文化的電玩迷群、特攝迷群、機器人迷群、萌系迷群等,另外臺灣的漫畫家以世代取樣,邀請不同屬性的創作者展出,如武俠漫畫的大師游龍輝、武俠科幻《一刀傳》的作者陳弘耀、《雷克小子》的作者黃熙文、《隋唐英雄傳》的作者高永、《變變俱樂部》的作者傑利小子,這些作品分別影響了臺灣對於漫畫的深刻記憶。最後則是臺灣日本動漫文化所產生,武俠布袋戲霹靂多媒體的作品《東離劍遊紀》,如同上述的演化,最終臺灣的原生化也回去與日本動漫文化產生新的碰撞。在此主題中,也邀請了日本大阪藝術大學藝術科技學系與臺灣國立臺南藝術大學動畫藝術與影像美學研究所的學院動畫作品,進行臺灣與日本動畫作品的參照。

群體串聯的力量(他者)

網路時代,同人文化興起,漫畫家開始建立新的生產系統,漫畫家自行編輯出版,也透過網路或同人場自行銷售。漫畫家創作者也與粉絲越來越靠近,甚至很多群迷也是創作者,因而進行再創作,不像80、90年代商業作品日漫深刻的影響臺漫,臺灣日本的同人文化幾乎是平行線般的發展,也因此在網路盛行,全球化更密集的當下,網路的誕生消除了國土的疆界,更讓原生化能在地區之中加速。如此次展覽邀請的創作者,包含知名的繪師村田蓮爾、日本同人文化出生的知名社團幻想堂,與同人漫畫家出生後商業出道的漫畫家織本任那,都是新的生產系統所誕生的創作者。臺灣的部份也邀請同人文化出道,在日本具知名度的創作者VOFAN,與網路時代透過社群平台出道與串紅的咖哩東、米奇鰻、血多都是在網路興起之後在新的系統所出道的創作者,也邀請了由同人社團起家的遊戲公司Erotes Studio 艾蘿塔斯參展。另外此區也邀請了本身是動漫迷也是聲音藝術家的黃大旺,創作動漫文化中的偶像文化、設計師許峻誠以網路時代MAKER自造者運動盛行,談論動漫的另一種手作、二創。在此區的最後,則是邀請臺日合作設計Yahoo TV的《虎妮好朋友》展出,討論網路時代最重要的「作者權轉移」之精神,漫畫家不在是作者,而是作品與讀者粉絲的催化劑。

社會文化的反轉(諸眾)

漫畫在臺灣一直都是與社會文化息息相關的紀實創作,在地文化的探討,也是以長期生活在當地場域的漫畫家,才能吸收與消化文化之內容,也因此可以知道在此脈絡下臺日的映射幾乎沒有,撇開畫工、風格等工藝面的影響,題材與主題的討論,是在地文化原生化的關鍵。在此之下也以「網路前」與「網路後」來拓樸縱向歷史的維度,如網路前的社會文化的紀實,《反共小英雄》的作者邱錫勳、《島嶼的誕生》的作者杜福安、《霧社事件》的作者邱若龍。網路後社會文化的紀實,則是有《1661國姓來襲》的作者李隆杰、《馬皇降臨》與《冥戰錄》的作者韋宗成、《總統級貓奴》與《棒球人生賽》的作者蠢羊與奇怪生物。在此區特別邀請錄像藝術家許哲瑜的作品〈麥克風試音〉用影像動畫的方式紀實作家黃國峻辭世前的散文集,網路前後漫畫扮演介入社會的重要角色,網路之後,進到同人文化興盛的時代,漫畫在社會上的影響更為直接與有效。

漫畫未來的輪廓

在此子題中,又再依據個人、他者、諸眾分成三個小題「個人知覺的追尋」、「他者記憶的再塑」、「諸眾政治的實踐」。在「個人知覺的追尋」這個小題之中,邀請錄像藝術創作者陳依純與漫畫家左萱跨域創作,兩人相似的成長背景與對於傳統宗教信仰的喜愛,透過新媒體藝術的方式再現《神之鄉》。日本新媒體藝術家安藤英由樹與臺灣漫畫家韋宗成合作〈Saccede-Based Display Eyes〉,透過視覺暫留的科學現象,讓《冥戰錄》的默娘,在觀眾眼前顯現神跡,另外也與日本漫畫家矢代真也合作科學漫畫作品。在「他者記憶的再塑」這個小題之中,邀請新媒體藝術創作者胡縉祥與漫畫家Barz跨域創作,並且以重新描寫一個架空清朝世界觀的漫畫《龍朝大都》來創作思考,再現漫畫中的「永動機」。日本新媒體藝術家八谷和彥的作品〈Open Sky Project〉,以宮崎駿風之谷的飛行器為創作的靈感,並且實踐了一台能風的飛行器,此計畫也是日本漫畫繪師寺田克也、漫畫家浅利義遠合作,以錄像、互動裝置、漫畫、插畫等不同的媒材,來呈現創作。在「諸眾政治的實踐」這個小題之中,邀請新媒體藝術創作者李文政與漫畫家Nagee跨域創作,兩人同樣的政治立場,讓其創作可以融合,以Nagee的系列作品《布袋爺爺和他的台灣好朋友》為創作發想,透過李文政的舞台裝置藝術,呈現另一種不同面貌的漫畫表現。另外在此子題中,也將使用AR的方式,讓漫畫可以透過手機開啟AR,走入觀眾的生活場域之中,AR的漫畫家有Erotes StudioVOFAN、幻想堂、米奇鰻、血多、李隆杰、杜福安、咖哩東、韋宗成、織本任那。

次元壁的打破

一直以來漫畫的二次元,帶給人們故事,牽動人們的喜怒哀樂,也讓人們對於二次元有著美好的嚮往。而「次元壁」則是網路用語,講述著三次元世界的我們,永遠無法進入二次元世界的一種屏障,然而透過網路的普及、社群的活化、作者權的轉移,在網路社群之後,已經產生出滲透次元壁的現象,也許在關係美學所談及的動漫文化,就是一個能進入「思想空間」的一種關係建立的方式,也就是滲透二次元的一種方法。當二次元不在是遙不可及,未來甚至能穿透次元的高牆,讓漫畫與真實社會產生出連結。展覽以臺灣動畫與日本的漫畫生態系進行取樣,這邊的漫畫生態系,其實指的就是目前我們熟悉的「動漫文化」加上「粉絲文化」所建構而成,生態系的建立透過網路現象的方式爆發出來,透過網路之後的漫畫與社群現象,來重新思考臺日動漫文化,在當下所產生的交集,並且從臺灣投映到日本,再從日本投射回臺灣,並且觀測臺灣漫畫原生化的發展,也思考未來臺灣漫畫的下一步,與可能的面貌。

©2020 by 有電互動